The unofficial website of the Northern Marianas Badminton Federation in the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands,


Tuesdays to Thursdays 8:30am-10:30am
Saturday: 6:30pm-9:30pm
Sunday: 2pm-6pm

NMBF members and non-members, we can chat now! just leave your messages at the Chat Box located on your right. Scroll down and look for the black chat box and chat! Click on Name (type in your name then message)!

Shuttlers' team tourney unveils today

The 2nd Annual Traders Insurance Badminton Team Tournament will kick off today at the Gilbert C. Ada Gymnasium.

Eight teams will be battling for the championship as they play in mixed double, men's singles, and men's and women's doubles events,

Before the games, an elaborate opening ceremony will be held at 6pm with the eight squads participating in the traditional parade of teams.

A Best in Uniform award will be given. Selection for the best in uniform will be based on the creativity of team name, logo design and relevance, layout of design, and general impact.

Division of Sports and Recreation director Joe Lizama will be the opening rites' guest speaker. Joining him is Jerry Tan, who recently donated shuttlecocks for the tournament.

Northern Marianas Badminton Federation president Marconi Calindas will deliver the opening remarks, while a representative from tournament major sponsor Traders Insurance will also address the participants and guests.

Lizama will lead the ceremonial opening serve.

The eight teams that will fight for the championship are the Net Fighters of team captain Ed Sikayun, the Badminton All-Stars of Edwin Montoya, D'Blue Powers of Roger Vales, D' Bombers of Eric Pena, Bad Masters of Calindas, Red Dragon Shuttlers of Happy Gabriel, Lito Mendoza of the Gray Hawks, and the Smash Killers of Macoi Aguda.

Each team has one A-level player, three B-level players (men's), two B-level players (women's), and two C-level players (one each in the men's and women's division).

There will be six events per playing day and the tournament will have a round robin format. A point will be awarded for a win and the team with the highest points will be declared champion. The top three teams will be awarded trophies and other prizes

NMBF thanked the following for supporting the tournament: Jerry Tan; Shirley's Coffee Shop; Pacific Quick Print; Coral Ocean Point; PTI; Sun Palace Hotel; Wear-A-Marconi, Tropex; Dollar Days; and Labtech International.(Saipan Tribune)

No comments: