The unofficial website of the Northern Marianas Badminton Federation in the Commonwealth of Northern Mariana Islands,


Tuesdays to Thursdays 8:30am-10:30am
Saturday: 6:30pm-9:30pm
Sunday: 2pm-6pm

NMBF members and non-members, we can chat now! just leave your messages at the Chat Box located on your right. Scroll down and look for the black chat box and chat! Click on Name (type in your name then message)!

A night of fun and farewell

Some of the winners in the recently concluded Michelob-Ultra Badminton Tournament pose for a group photo. (Hapi Gabriel)

By Jon Perez

The Northern Marianas Badminton Federation honored the winners of the recently concluded Inaugural Michelob Ultra Badminton Tournament in a simple ceremony held at the Chambre Bar of the Fiesta Resort & Spa.

It was a night of fun and endless merriment as the usual humor brought by event hosts Hapi Gabriel, Marconi Calindas, and Macoi Aguda brought barrels of laughter from the more than 70 NMBF members that packed the Chambre Bar as they made fun of each other and the unwilling victims that they see during the night.

Winners of the inaugural Michelob Ultra badminton meet were awarded certificates for their feat.

Leading the list of winners is Priyanthan Wijayaguharatne, who won the men's A singles and teamed up with John Nguyen to claim the men's A doubles crown.

Joseph Santos and Alvin Alvarez topped the men's B with Roger Vales and Saul Gargallo ending up in second place. Ariel Mariano and Sherwin Samson placed third. Efren Cacdac and Paul Navarro claimed the men's C title.

Lourdes Cielo partnered with Loyda Ito to rule the women's B doubles division while Ana Rose Omori paired up with Angi Ito in the women's C class in the month-long tournament sponsored, in part, by Michelob-MARPAC, At Your Service, SaipanCell, JET Holdings, PMIC, Serenity Salon, Elegance Café, NIC, Canton Restaurant, National Office Supply, Makeover Beauty Salon, Megavision, Venus Beauty Salon, Vargas Construction, Esolutions Inc., Philippine Consul General Wilfredo Maximo, N.C. Matsumoto, PFC International, Traders Insurance, and Tropex Garden.

Emily Vargas and Marlene Peraja finished second in the women's B, while Merlie Savellano and Camille Samonte placed third.

Vales, meanwhile, teamed up with Malou Malasarte to earn the mixed doubles while Geary Balarao and Lot Abuel placed second. Gary Bandoja and Lucelle Lampera finished third.

It was also a night of farewells as the NMBF said goodbye to its founding president, Jonathan Perez, who will be going back to work in the Philippines.

Incumbent NMBF president Marconi Calindas and secretary Hapi Gabriel made a video and photomontage of how the NMBF started, highlighting Perez's contributions in helping promote the sport.

NMBF officials and members then alternated in giving their messages and wishing Perez the best of luck on his return home.

(Saipan Tribune)

No comments: